My Last Vat Savirti in London

IMG_3899

Today is Savitri Pooja in India. I wrote about this tradition last year (see link below where you can read the story of Savitri and my interpretation of it).

https://anenglishwomaninmumbai.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/vat-savitri-vrat-london-style/

While it is a festival that some view as oppressive to women, like Karva Chauth I choose to celebrate as I love the idea of a festival that celebrates the power of the love of women and divine feminine energy. I think every culture can identify with this and it is great to have a day dedicated to it!

This is my second celebration away from my man but I am very happy as it will be our last apart. After my partner’s application to visit my family in the UK was rejected we made the decision to join him in India and move back there. The past few months have been agonising – not only as we are separated by distance but working out how we can make the move happen. I spent months looking for a job, consulting immigration lawyers and accountants, looking at schools for my daughter and places to live, all whilst battling with the winter blues and living alone as a hard-working single mum in a freezing cold London. It took its toll on my career, relationship and health and was one of the hardest experiences I’ve been through in my life. However, I’m happy to say that all the hard work and tough decisions have paid off. I found a job, I have sold my boat, given away my car and packed my life into boxes. Soon I will say my farewells to my friends and family here in the UK. It is time to move onto the next adventure and I couldn’t be more overjoyed!

Today I am full of love and thanks. I feel strong and at peace. While this may not be my last Vat Savitri Vrat in London – who knows what the future holds for my family? I hope it will be my last alone. Many people ask me if I am not scared about all the things that come with settling and starting a new life in another country. These things don’t really phase me, but starting a new life and family with this person that means so much to me did terrify me. What if it doesn’t work? What if I am not good enough? What if it is the wrong decision? The wrong person? Will my daughter be happy? Will my partner be happy?

Today I am ready to face these questions and challenges. I know the strength of my love for my partner and my daughter will see me and my family through – with this power I can overcome all obstacles and look forward to a bright future full of even more love.

 

About anenglishwomaninmumbai

A writer, event production manager, sound engineer and mother, living, working and loving life in Mumbai, London and beyond.
This entry was posted in Culture, Durga, Feminism, Feminist, Goddess, good news, happy news, Hindu, Hinduism, immigration, India, intercultural relationships, long distance relationships, Love, motherhood, Mumbai, Religion, Romance, spirituality, Tradition, Vat Savitri, visas, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Last Vat Savirti in London

  1. All the best with your final few weeks in the UK and looking forward to seeing you again soon in Mumbai!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

